2010 Awards Banquet


The 2010 San Juan Island EMS Awards Banquet took place at the Paradise Lanes in Friday Harbor on January 15, a very entertaining evening.  Humberto Orozco was acknowledged by his peers who voted him the EMT of the Year. Humberto also received the Frank Wilson Service Award chosen and presented by the Inter Island Medical Center.   Deanna Banry was chosen to receive the Chief’s award for all that she does over and above the normal work load of a volunteer EMT.  The Officer of the Year Award was split between the dynamic duo Robert and Patricia Benton.   Bill Cummings was presented with the EMS Community Service Award for all of his years of dedicated service at all hours, day and night. Debbie Grimes and Tom Eades received 20-year pins (20 years being an EMT!)  Other EMT’s with over 20 years of service are Herb Mason at 23 years, Lainey Volk at 26 years and Jim Cole at 27 years.  This community is lucky to have such committed, trained professionals donating their precious time and energy responding at times of need.   

Remove Post