EMS Awards Banquet

San Juan Island EMS members were acknowledged with special awards at the annual EMS Banquet on January 16. The EMT of the Year Award and the Chief’s Award went to Herb Mason. Rebecca Smith was the Officer of the Year. The Rookie of the Year Award was presented to Humberto Orozco. The physicians of the Inter Island Medical Center gave the Frank Wilson Service Beyond Self Award to Emily Hallock.

“It is a privilege to recognize these awardees for their service in 2009. They each made special contributions and extra individual efforts, beyond their regular responsibilities, to provide exemplary personalized care and emergency medical services to their fellow Islanders,” said EMS Chief Jim Cole. “We also want to acknowledge all the volunteer and career personnel and their families for their service and support. In 2009, we responded to 980 calls. Each and every member of San Juan Island EMS responded diligently, at all hours and in all conditions, to serve our residents and visitors.”

Ten San Juan Island EMS EMTs were recognized for fifteen years and more of EMS service, including Lainey Volk (25 years) and Brad Creesy (15 years).